The list of 194 journalists targeted during 2022 is given in the Table below:

Sl No. of journalists targeted	Name of journalists	State/UT	Nature of targeting	No. of journalist targeted by the State actors	Type of State actors	No. of journalists targeted by the non-state actors	Type of non-State actors
1	Kollu Ankababu	Andhra Pradesh	Arrest	1	Police		
2	Maksam Tayeng	Arunachal Pradesh	Assault	1	Forest officials		
3	Kunu Borang	Arunachal Pradesh	Assault			1	unidentified persons
4-5	Nasidur Rahman and Mushtafizur Rahman	Assam	Arrest	2	Police		
6	Jayant Debnath	Assam	Abused and assault by two policemen	1	Police		
7	Biswa Kalyan Purkayastha	Assam	Assault by Home Guard S Deb	1	Govt Home Guard		
8	Banajit Thakuria	Assam	Assault by unknown persons			1	
9	Subhash Kumar Mahto	Bihar	Murder			1	Four accused identified as Sourav Kumar, Priyangshu Kumar and Roshon Kumar
10	Anup	Bihar	Assault by police	1	Police		
11	Ravi Shankar	Bihar	Shot at			1	Unknown armed men
12	Gokul Yadav	Bihar	Murder			1	Unidentified persons
13	Vivek Chaubey	Chhattisgarh	Murder			1	Four persons including a Sarpanch

14	Jitendra Jaiswal	Chhattisgarh	Arrest	1	Police		
15	Nilesh Sharma	Chhattisgarh	Arrest	1	Police		
16	Mohammad Zubair	Delhi	Arrest	1	Police		
17	Ravi Nair	Delhi	Arrest warrant served for criminal defamation	1	Police/		
Court							
18-22	Siddharth Varadarajan, M.K. Venu, Sidharth Bhatia, Jahnavi Sen and Mithun Kidambi	Delhi	Searches at home and The Wire's office & registration of FIR	5	Police		
23	Naresh Vats	Delhi	Assault	1	Security personnel		
24	Aakash Hussain	Delhi	Stopped from flying by immigration officials	1	Immigration officials		
25	Sanna Irshad Mattoo	Delhi	Stopped from flying by immigration officials	1	Immigration officials		
26	Sucheta Dalal	Delhi	Summon	1	ED		
27	Rajat Sharma	Delhi	Threat			1	Unknown persons
28	Juned Khan Pathan	Gujarat	Murder			1	Unknown persons
29	A woman journalist	Haryana	Molestation and threat	1	Railway officials		
30	Rupesh Kumar Singh	Jharkhand	Arrest	1	Police		
31	Arup Chatterjee	Jharkhand	Arrest	1	Police		
32	Vidyut Mahato	Jharkhand	Assault	1	Police		
33	Sajad Gul	J&K	Arrest & detention	1	Police		
34	Fahad Shah	J&K	Arrest & detention	1	Police		

35	Gowhar Geelani	J&K	Summons under Sections 107 and 151 of CrPC & arrest order by court	1	Police/ Court		
36	Yash Raj Sharma	J&K	Summon under Section 160 of CrPC	1	Police		
37	Aasif Sultan	J&K	Detained under PSA	1	Police		
38	Khalid Gul	J&K	Arrest	1	Police		
39	Shahid Tantray	J&K	Harassment	1	Police		
40	Shabraiz Bashir	J&K	Assault			1	
41-80	40 journalists	J&K	Threat & intimidation			40	Armed opposition groups
81	Rana Ayyub	Karnataka	Registration of FIR	1	Police		
82-84	Ajith Kumar K, Praveen Kumar and Siddique Neeraje	Karnataka	Registration of FIR	3	Police		
85	Bandu Mali @ Pandit	Madhya Pradesh	Murder			1	Unidentified persons
86	Shubham Pathak	Madhya Pradesh	Registration of FIR and beating by authorities	1	Police & other public official		
87-89 90	Kunjbihari Kaurav, Anil Sharma and N.K. Bhatele Govind Gurjar	Madhya Pradesh Madhya Pradesh	Registration of FIR Assault	3	Police	1	Staff and security guards of a private hospital
91	An unidentified journalist	Madhya Pradesh	Assault			1	Unidentified persons
92	Vicky Rajpurohit	Madhya Pradesh	Assault			1	Unidentified persons

93	Chandrakant Suryvanshi	Maharashtra	Arrest	1	Police		
94	Govind Wakade	Maharashtra	Arrest and detention	1	Police		
95	Varun Singh	Maharashtra	Manhandled by traffic policeman	1	Police		
96	Mohan Dubey	Maharashtra	Stabbed			1	ne Yusuf Sheikh
97	Ganesh Jadhav	Maharashtra	Shot			1	Unidentified persons
98-99	Bijoy Kakchingtabam and Leimapokpam Shanjitkumar	Manipur	Arrest	2	Police		
100	Wangkhemcha Shamjai	Manipur	Summoned and harassment	1	NIA		
101-102	Josh Sharma and L. Kanta	Manipur	Assault			2	Unidentified persons
103	An unidentified TV reporter	Manipur	Assault			1	Unidentified persons
104-106	Three unidentified journalists	Meghalaya	Assault			3	Mob
107	Rohit Biswal	Odisha	Killing in IED blast			1	Triggered by suspected Maoists
108	Sailendranath Jena	Odisha	Murder			1	Unidentified persons
109	Lokanath Dalei	Odisha	Detention and torture	1	Police		
110	Achyuta Mohanty	Odisha	Arrest and torture	1	Police		
111	Kalu Charan Sahu	Odisha	Assault			1	Unidentified persons
112	Rakesh Roul	Odisha	Assault	1	Police		
113-116	Four unidentified journalists	Odisha	Assault			4	Unidentified persons
117	Pravat Kumar Lenka	Odisha	Assault			1	Unidentified persons

118-120	Prabin Kumar and two others	Odisha	Assault	3	Police		
121	T. Udayanarayanan	Puducherry	Assault and threat			1	Unidentified persons
122	Ravinder Singh Wazidpur	Punjab	Booked under Section 153 of IPC & Section 66-C of IT Act	1	Police		
123-124	Jatinder Singh and Satinder Singh	Punjab	Assault			2	Officials of the TCS Immigration Company
125	Alok Verma	Punjab	Assault			1	Unidentified persons
126	Aman Chopra	Rajasthan	Registration of FIR	1	Police		
127	Balaji Baskar	Tamil Nadu	Assault			1	Unidentified persons
128	Savitri Kannan	Tamil Nadu	Arrest	1	Police		
129-168	40 journalists and YouTube content creators	Telangana	Detention and harassment	40	Police		
169	Tapas Das	Tripura	Assault			1	Unidentified persons
170	Kishore Ram	Uttarakhand	Arrest	1	Police		
171	Sudhir Saini	Uttar Pradesh	Murder			1	By three persons in a road rage
172	Gaurav Bansal	Uttar Pradesh	Arrest and torture	1	Police		
173	Faizan Qureshi	Uttar Pradesh	Arrest	1	Police		
174-176	Ajit Kumar Ojha, Digvijay Singh and Manoj Gupta	Uttar Pradesh	Arrest	3	Police		
177	Uma Nath Tiwari	Uttar Pradesh	Registration of FIR	1	Police		
178	Anil Yadav	Uttar Pradesh	Arrest	1	Police		
179	An unidentified journalist	Uttar Pradesh	Assault and threat			1	Unidentified persons

180	Vikas Sahay	Uttar Pradesh	Assault			1	Relative of the Chairperson of Municipal Corporation
181	Mukesh Gupta	Uttar Pradesh	Shot at			1	Unidentified persons
182-183	Shyam Sunder Pandey and Laddu Pandey	Uttar Pradesh	Shot at			2	Unidentified persons
184-192	Nine journalists	West Bengal	Assault			9	Members of a political party
193	A female reporter	West Bengal	Assault			1	Members of a political party
194	Manab Guha	West Bengal	Arrest	1	Police		Members of a political party
		Total		103		91	